January 24, 2005

Snow Day

Big bummer that a blizzard prevented me from kicking my own ass snowboarding this weekend. I was really looking forward to it, but... hey, life sucks sometimes. Spent the weekend holed up in the house, trying not to be Pathetic Sad Girl. I also started taking St. John's Wort yesterday... I've been told it's nature's attempt at Prozac. I probably need it.

Speaking of which - a friend of mine said something that was really freaking obnoxious the other day. I use the term 'friend' loosely, because I've pretty much had it with this particular individual... at any rate, we had dinner last week because she kept harassing me and wouldn't leave me alone. She tells me that I was sad when we spoke on the phone earlier, and it made her all depressed and then she was miserable for like, a day and a half. Gee, I'm awful freaking sorry that my life made you sad. Y'know what? Then don't call me. Stop bothering me. Stop using ME as your shoulder to cry on all the time. You're wasting my time. I'm done with people who are worthless.

January 20, 2005

More Coffee

Bored at work, bored at work, bored at work.

You know what I've discovered? Work is boring. All work. I was busy yesterday and Tuesday, but today I'm bored. Because work is, inherently, boring.

Anyway... I'm going snowboarding on Saturday. I've never been snowboarding in my life. Hell, I don't even really know how to ski. I think I'm going to suck at it HUGELY. But hey, live the ride.

January 14, 2005

Life

Here's my new thing - I'm going to post quotes if they strike me for any particular reason at any particular moment.

"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
~Soren Kirkegaard

No shit, right?

Those Who Shall Inherit The Earth...

Sitting at my new job. It's 10 to 4, I leave at 4:30. I've spent the last two weeks helping students and parents and teachers and kids figure out how to pay for/graduate from/add/drop/change/audit/survive/understand their college classes. It's kind of fun... aside from the occaisional Sally Stupid, as I've begun calling them. Allow me to share with you a snippet of a conversation I had with a student yesterday. Keep in mind, this is an adult. An adult graduate student. An adult graduate student in the MBA program.

Sally: "What day do classes start?"
Me: "Classes start next Tuesday, which is the 18th."
Sally: "Isn't that a holiday?"
Me: "Well, Martin Luther King Day. That's why we are closed on Monday and don't start until Tuesday."
Sally: "Oh. But my class is on Wednesday."
Me: "Okay."
Sally: "So when would MY class start?"
Me: "Your class is on Wednesdays, and since the semester begins on Tuesday, it'll be the next day."
Sally: "Oh, okay. So my classes really start on the 20th."
Me: "No. Tuesday is the 18th, so Wednesday is the 19th."

Don't you wish you were me?

Meanwhile, I head off to job #2 an hour after I'm done. We'll see how long this 60-hours-a-week thing. At least it keeps my mind off of my jerk of an ex boyfriend, and the fact that he didn't even send an EMAIL on my birthday. Mr "I still really want to be a part of each other's lives. Can we still be friends?". Guess what I say to that??